Books and Articles

Constitutional Law of Canada, 9th Ed.
(vol. I – Federalism and Aboriginal Peoples) was released September 2007. A sample chapter is available on this website.

Read Sample

  Professor Magnet is the author of eighteen books.

More Books


Research Resources

Need help finding an answer? This website provides a comprehensive list of the best legal collections online.

Learn More

Constitutional Law

Find general information on Canadian constitutional law and specific information on courses taught by Professor Joseph E. Magnet at the University of Ottawa.

Learn More

Professor Joseph E. Magnet

This website was conceived by Professor Joseph E. Magnet, a professor of law at the University of Ottawa.

Read More

Division of Powers - Introduction

Constitutional law in Canada, as taught in Canadian law schools, divides neatly into two major areas of focus:  federalism, including the division of powers; and the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. The division of powers in Canada has received sustained attention from the Courts since the creation of the Canadian federation in 1867. 

Canada's constitution divides governing power between two levels of government - the federal government and the provincial governments. Each level of government is supreme in its area of jurisdiction.  Section 91 of the Constitution Act, 1867 lists the powers of the federal government; section 92 lists the powers of the provincial governments.
Certain division of powers topics are of particular interest to the constitutional lawyer. This website provides information on the most important of these topics, including original commentary, case law, and links to relevant sites.